Nashville Underage Consumption Lawyer
Find Legal Representation from Our DUI Attorneys!
Tennessee laws are strict on regulating minors, particularly in cases of
juveniles who are consuming alcohol and getting behind the wheel. Law
enforcement will aggressively pursue anyone who appears to be drinking
alcohol underage. Recently, a local bar that college students would frequent
came under fire when police busted several underage individuals.
If you, your child, or a loved one has been charged with this offense,
then you know how important it is to protect your future. Contact The
Collins Law Firm, PLLC to retain legal counsel from a
Nashville DUI attorney as soon as possible.
Underage Consumption Laws
Underage individuals who are arrested can be charged either as children
or as adults, depending on their age. Those who under the age of 18 are
considered juvenile offenders, while 18 to 20-year-olds will be sent to
adult court. Anyone under the age of 21 is prohibited from purchasing
alcohol, and Tennessee law enacts a “no refusal” policy for
anyone, regardless of age, against drinking and driving.
Underage Consumption is a Class A Misdemeanor if it is their first offense.
One could face several penalties if convicted.
- These penalties may include the following:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- $2, 500 fine
- License suspension for 1 year
- Up to 100 hours of community service
Although this is a misdemeanor offense, you should already be aware of
the negative implications a conviction can bring. This offense will remain
on the individual’s criminal record for the rest of their lives.
It makes matters complicated when potential employers discover this in
background checks. It may also make one ineligible to receive scholarships
or cancel out existing ones needed for school.
Get Experience on Your Side!
As you can see, having an attorney is crucial to forming a defense from
these charges. Our Nashville DUI lawyers are former prosecutors and were
Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠ list. We know the criminal justice system thoroughly and can use that knowledge
to your advantage. We have successfully helped numerous clients reduce
or acquit them of these charges, even so far as to help with expunging
them from their record.
Call us at (615) 610-0728 and request a