Nashville Assault Defense Lawyer
Experienced Legal Representation Serving Middle & East Tennessee
Assault is a serious offense according to the Tennessee judicial system. While we imagine assaults resulting in violence and injuries, most of them are ordinary disagreements and arguments that got out of hand. If you are facing assault charges, it is imperative to obtain experienced legal services from a qualified lawyer.
The Collins Law Firm, PLLC is committed to defending our clients facing charges with violent crimes. With more than a decade of experience, our Nashville criminal defense attorneys can thoroughly review your case and determine all of your legal options in order to obtain the most favorable results possible.
Simple Assault Definition & Penalties
In Tennessee, simple assault consists of intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another individual, causing a person to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury, or causing physical contact with someone else which a reasonable individual would interpret as extremely offensive or provocative. Simple assault only involves minor bodily injury, such as a cut or a bruise.
An assault that results in bodily injury or threatens the victim with imminent bodily injury is considered a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 11 months and 29 days, as well as a fine of up to $2,500. Physical contact which is offensive or provocative is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of six months and a fine of up to $500.
Aggravated Assault Definition & Penalties
A person commits aggravated assault if he or she intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes “serious” physical injury to another individual with or without the use of a deadly weapon. Injury such as a broken bone, loss of limb, disfigurement, or requiring surgery or hospitalization is considered serious physical injury.
Aggravated assault involving intentional or knowing acts is a Class C felony, punishable by a prison sentence between three and five years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000. Aggravated assault involving reckless acts is a Class D felony, punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 12 years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Call (615) 610-0728 for Let us Fight for You Today
Our legal team has handled a variety of assault cases in Tennessee and we understand what you are up against when facing the criminal courts. Do not hesitate to get aggressive and reliable legal help immediately.
Contact us and schedule a free, confidential consultation right away.