Costs of a DUI Conviction in Nashville
Defense Attorneys That Can Help Protect Your Rights
Being charged with DUI isn’t just a legal issue. It’s a financial
one as well. The costs associated with a DUI offense in Tennessee add
up extremely quickly. The majority of the costs come from fines and court
fees, but there are numerous associated costs from probation, DUI school,
and other fees. At The Collins Law Firm, PLLC, our Nashville
DUI defense lawyers help you understand these costs and how they can affect you. We
can also help clients in Davidson County, as well as Lewisburg and all
throughout Middle Tennessee.
The costs below are estimated from a DUI pled in General Sessions in Davidson County.
How Much You Can Expect to Pay
The costs for a
first-time DUI offender can exceed well past $1,000.
48-hour jail fee:
1st offense DUI fine:
12-month probation fee:
Alcohol safety school:
Restricted driver’s license fee:
Don’t forget: These costs don’t include an ignition interlock
device, which a judge will order you to install in your vehicle at your
expense, even on your first offense. Also worth taking into consideration
is any restitution that you will likely pay to any other person involved
suffering personal injury or loss. It also doesn’t include any associated
SR-22 costs. SR-22 is a special type of insurance premium you will have
to pay upon obtaining your restricted driver’s license.
What Other Fees Could I Face?
- There are a number of additional fees depending on your particular circumstances:
$44 – For each additional day in jail beyond the 48-hour jail fee.
$35 – A pre-trial release fee.
$17.50 – The fee if you refused a breath test on-site.
$132 – A public service work fee, if you’re assigned public service
as part of your sentence.
Your minimum fine and probation charges also increase depending on the
number of offenses you have on your record and your sentence, respectively.
If you need strong, tenacious Nashville DUI attorney, turn to
The Collins Law Firm, PLLC.
Call us today for your case evaluation.